There were many days I regretted being a doctor. Every day went by so quickly that it became a blur.
At work, I just want things to get done. Before superiors ask and degrade me from not being fast enough. Heck, sometimes they call me useless. And whenever I try to explain my situation, they call it bullshit.
Before I know it, it's already 6 pm; time to go home. There goes my day, no lunch, no water, no toilet breaks, and my calves are aching from standing and walking so much to and fro from the lab to the ward, to patients, to the procedure trolleys, to treatment room, to the computer desk, to the dietitian office, to the social worker office, to ABG machine..you name it, I have been to all crooks of the hospital.
And when I get home, all I wanted is sleep..some days, I wanted TV..blankly staring on the screen while my mind wandered aimlessly. But most days, I wanted a meal, a shower then straight to sleep.
And the next thing I know, my alarm went off and I'm back at work again. Press replay.
So to aspiring medical students out there......still want to be a doctor?
Think again. Think hard. Think really really hard.
To be continued.